Ohio Downhill – State of the Union in Pictures

Over the past year I’ve come to some grim conclusions.  I’ve had to face up to the fact that despite what we make of it, Ohio will never look like this…

Not even close.  If I had to choose a picture that exemplifies Ohio, then it would be something more like this:

Might be Ohio

When I moved back, I already knew this, but I figured life is what we make of it!  I want to keep doing stuff like this:

Braaaaap!

I had a lot of enthusiasm when I first moved back!

We put in a quite a bit of effort, built some fun new trails, ran some races.  But in the end, let’s face it, when you show up at one of Ohio’s downhill spots with a full on downhill bike, you kinda have to put one of these on…

In the end, downhillers stuck in Ohio are all just a bunch of mis-led crazy nuts in the back of a pickup truck.

By this point, you’re either depressed, or you think I’m just mumbling away pointlessly…

…which is true.  So what did I decide to do?  If you can’t beat em, join em.  I bought a 29er hardtail.  Perhaps the first bike I’ve ever owned that was actually well suited to Ohio.  BORING you say.  Not this bike!  It’s almost as awesome as kittens trained as ninjas…

…and cooler than this…

…but not quite as cool as this…

I’ll post up some pics and a ride review in the future.

So what is the future of Ohio Downhill?  It will go on as it always has…a rag tag handful of fun loving guys bouncing around some small hills with trails kept open with good hard graft.  I’ll join you a few times a year if I get free weekend…

3 responses

  1. Gotta keep up with what ya love – so keep on chasing the OH DH. And throw in some XC so ya have something to fall back on.

    Steve Z

    October 25, 2012 at 2:19 pm

  2. Very creative. Thanks for sharing.

    January 4, 2013 at 10:16 pm

  3. Mason Collier

    Why no more posts?

    February 5, 2013 at 10:20 am

Leave a Reply

